21 projects // DIY bejewelled flip flops

I originally bought a pair of five dollar flip flops so I could make these.

But then I realized that fickle me would take forever to find the perfect fabric to match the flip flops. So in the end, I just decided to go with something simpler (in terms of having to make fewer decisions, haha) and bejewelled my flip flops.

IMG_4936

I didn’t photograph the entire process but it’s quite straightforward, really.

IMG_4933

Supplies:

  • Glue gun (or UHU glue)
  • Glue sticks for your glue gun
  • Newspaper (so the glue doesn’t drip onto your work surface)
  • Inexpensive flip flops
  • Jewels (I got these from my local sewing store. And if jewels are too loud for you, you can try beads or buttons.)

IMG_4939

Steps:

  1. Turn on the glue gun and allow time for it to heat up (mine took about five minutes).
  2. While waiting, decide on the placement of the jewels on your flip flops.
  3. Working quickly, apply glue on the flip flop and adhere the jewel (be careful of your fingers as you do that because the glue is hot!)
  4. Wait for the glue to dry.
  5. And violá! You’re all ready to show off your pretty new flip flops!

Note: I found the jewels loosening and falling off after a couple days, which I wasn’t counting on happening since I thought the glue gun would help them hold pretty well. But I just re-attached them with UHU liquid glue, which may be a better option for this project.

IMG_4942

I still think the original idea was really cute. Maybe I’ll try it someday when I find the perfect fabric and some inexpensive flip flops. I think I’m well-prepared for springtime and warm weather with my bejewelled flip flops and mint green nails (: My feet are definitely comfy and happy in these flip flops.

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!